The following members make up the Northwest Pipe Company Board of Directors.  Please select an individual member below to learn more about them and the committees they contribute to.

  • Michael C. Franson

    Michael C. Franson has been a director of the Company since August 2016. Mr. Franson previously served on the Board from 2001 until 2005 and again from 2007 until 2014. In July of 2016, Mr. Franson retired from KPMG Corporate Finance LLC (“KPMG”) as Managing Director and Global Head of Technology M&A after serving in that role from 2014 to 2016. From 2005 to 2014, Mr. Franson was a co-founder and President of St. Charles Capital LLC (“St. Charles”), an investment banking firm focused on mergers and acquisitions, raising private capital and providing financial advisory services for middle-market companies across the United States. From 2000 to 2005, Mr. Franson was a Managing Director at The Wallach Company, which was subsequently sold to KeyCorp, the parent of KeyBanc Capital Markets. Currently, he is the Chair of our Compensation Committee, a member of our Audit Committee and a member of our Executive Committee. Mr. Franson brings to the Board his background and expertise in investment banking, including substantial experience in financial analysis and financial advisory services, merger and acquisition transactions, and a wide variety of capital raising and financing transactions.

  • Amanda Julian

    Amanda Julian is a senior partner of Somerville Partners, a firm specializing in management and organizational psychology. Ms. Julian has over 19 years of experience working with investors and top-level senior executives in building great companies. She provides investor and management teams with an understanding of how to maximize leadership effectiveness and build value creation through long-term strategic planning. Specifically, she specializes in applied research to assist in executive selection, executive development, organizational assessment, and strategic planning. She holds a Ph.D. and M.A. in Industrial Psychology from Bowling Green State University and obtained her undergraduate degree from the University of Colorado, Boulder. Ms. Julian is a member of our Nominating and Governance Committee.

  • Keith R. Larson

    Keith R. Larson has been a director of the Company since May 2007. Mr. Larson was a Vice President of Intel Corporation and Senior Managing Director of Intel Capital, Intel Corporation’s strategic investment group, until his retirement in April 2019, where he was a voting member of the investment committee and managed the Financial Investments Portfolio, along with other duties. Mr. Larson was appointed Vice President in 2006 and served as a Managing Director of Intel Capital from 2004 to 2018, managing a team of investment professionals focused on identifying, making, and managing strategic investments in the manufacturing, memory and programmable solutions, and the Sports and Bioinformatics vertical sectors. Mr. Larson has previously managed Latin America, Taiwan, Korea, and Japan regions for Intel Capital, and for approximately three months in 2004, Mr. Larson managed the Western Europe and Israel investment team of Intel Capital. From 1999 to 2003, Mr. Larson was a Sector Director managing teams of investment professionals investing in communications, networking, and data storage sectors. Mr. Larson formerly served on the board of regents of a university, and on a state government council, which oversaw approximately $80 billion in investments of various Oregon State agencies and funds including the Oregon Public Employees Retirement Fund. Currently, he is the Chair of our Audit Committee and a member of our Compensation Committee. Mr. Larson brings to the Board his experience as a senior executive in corporate development in a large multinational public company as well as his experience in corporate governance.

  • Irma Lockridge

    Irma Lockridge joined the Northwest Pipe Company Board of Directors in 2023. Ms. Lockridge currently holds the position of Chief People Officer at CoorsTek, a global leader in technical ceramics, and has held various executive level roles at predominantly Fortune 100 and 500 organizations including Newell Brands, Western Union, TeleTech, and Accenture. Ms. Lockridge has over 20 years of experience of focusing on strategic planning, intellectual capital, corporate management, and human resources. She currently serves on the board of directors for a non-profit and a publicly traded company. Ms. Lockridge holds a bachelor’s degree in management from the Wharton Business School at the University of Pennsylvania. Ms. Lockridge propels the Board in driving an employee-centric culture while developing and delivering strategic, best-in-class human capital solutions to support business priorities.

  • Scott J. Montross

    Scott J. Montross has been a director of the Company since January 2013. Mr. Montross has served as our President and CEO since January 2013, and as our Chief Operating Officer from May 2011 until December 2012. Previously, Mr. Montross served as Executive Vice President, Flat Products Group of EVRAZ North America from March 2010 through April 2011. Mr. Montross served as Vice President, General Manager, EVRAZ North America from February 2007 through February 2010. Prior to his General Manager role, Mr. Montross served as Vice President of Marketing and Sales at Oregon Steel Mills, Inc. from June 2003 through February 2007. From 2002 to 2003, Mr. Montross was a Vice President of Marketing and Sales for National Steel Corporation. Currently, he is a member of our Executive Committee. Mr. Montross brings to the Board his extensive commercial and operational experience in the steel industry.

  • John T. Paschal

    John T. Paschal has been a director of the Company since August 2019. Mr. Paschal is the President of the Temtco Steel Division of Kloeckner Metals Corporation. Mr. Paschal and his late uncle, Bill Taylor of Taylor Machine Works, co-founded Temtco Steel in 1979 with an emphasis on high-strength steel and value added services. Temtco Steel was sold to Kloeckner Metals in 2008. Mr. Paschal graduated from Mississippi State University with a BS in Business Administration in 1981. Currently, he is a member of our Compensation Committee and a member of our Nominating and Governance Committee. Mr. Paschal brings to the Board his extensive experience in the steel industry as well as his executive leadership and business management skills.

  • Richard A. Roman

    Richard A. Roman has been a director of the Company since 2003 and the Chairperson of the Board of Directors since January 2013. Mr. Roman has also served as our CEO from March 2010 until December 2012, and as President from October 2010 until December 2012. Previously, Mr. Roman was the President of Columbia Ventures Corporation, a private investment company which historically has focused principally on the international metals and telecommunications industries. Prior to joining Columbia Ventures Corporation in 1992, Mr. Roman was a partner at Coopers & Lybrand, an independent public accounting firm. Currently, he is a member of our Executive Committee. Mr. Roman brings to the Company his knowledge and experience as a partner at a large national independent public accounting firm as well as his more recent management experience as an executive officer of a private investment company.

Request Information

Interested in learning more information about investors?